By: Sarah Kezele |
October 17, 2019 4:44 pm
A former LPGA player got a quick lesson on rules changes this week — via 58 penalty strokes.
Lee Ann Walker, who hasn’t played full-time on the LPGA tour since 2008, returned to competitive golf this week at the Senior LPGA Championship in French Lick, Indiana.
Naturally, some rules have changed in that last decade-plus, but Walker didn’t look up those changes before taking the course. She used her caddy — over and over again — to line her up on the putting surface, not realizing that it is now a two-stroke penalty as of earlier this year.
Her playing partners informed her of the infraction after starting the second round, having already racked up 58 penalty strokes by then.
“Now that I don’t play the LPGA anymore, I don’t watch golf,” she said to Golfweek on Wednesday. “I knew there were rules changes. I just honestly didn’t know ’em. Just plain and simple. My stupidity for not going over the rules changes.”
Did You See This CB Softwares?
37 SOFTWARE TOOLS... FOR $27!?Join Affiliate Bots Right Away
Walker did not make the cut, but maybe she made an even more prestigious group?
“I may have made the Guinness Book of World Records,” she joked.